Privacy Policy

My Class Needs Foundation Privacy Policy

My Class Needs Foundation and its affiliates (hereinafter collectively referred to as “MCN”) are dedicated to protecting the personal information belonging to its donors, teacher users, clients, consultants, and contractors. The following Privacy Policy explains our commitment and how it is achieved. MCN has incorporated the ten privacy principles found in the federal Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, into its Privacy Policy. These principles address the collection, use, and disclosure of personal information belonging to our donors, teacher users, clients, consultants, and contractors.

Accountability

MCN accepts responsibility for the personal information under its control. The Executive Director is the Chief Privacy Officer and is accountable for ensuring compliance with the policies and procedures established by MCN that address the personal information under its control and inquiries about that information.

Questions and queries regarding our commitment to privacy, our Privacy Policy and the personal information under our control may be directed to info@curriculum.org, attention, Chief Privacy Officer, or Executive Director, 439 University Ave., Suite 1450, Toronto, ON M5G 1Y8 or by Fax to 416-591-1578.

Purposes

MCN collects, uses, and discloses the personal information of its donors, teacher users, clients, consultants and contractors to facilitate its objects and mission statement including, without limitation, advancing education in the elementary and secondary, public and private school systems throughout Canada.

MCN Objects:

  • to receive and maintain a charitable fund or funds and other property and to apply from time to time or part thereof and the income therefrom for charitable purposes;
  • to advance education by providing material and non-material resources to deserving k-12 teachers committed to improving the educational experience of students enrolled in public and independent schools throughout Canada;
  • to develop and promote a funding model whereby selected educational projects and learning opportunities are supported financially by donations from the public;
  • to establish and promote corporate sponsorships committed to supporting the aims and objectives of MCN.

My Class Needs Foundation collects, uses, and discloses the personal information of its donors to facilitate donor giving, including a recognition of donor giving, further requests for donations, and providing information about how donations have been utilized. My Class Needs Foundation donor lists are not sold, used by, or provided to any other organization. All information collected by the My Class Needs Foundation is collected, used, and disclosed by My Class Needs Foundation.

My Class Needs Foundation collects, uses, and discloses the personal information of its recipients to facilitate the funding of classroom projects. My Class Needs Foundation employees will review and seek explicit consent for the collection and use and disclosure of personal information belonging to its recipients for the purpose of funding a classroom project at the time of collection.

Consent

The personal information of our clients, consultants and contractors that we collect, use, and disclose to provide our educational services is collected, used and disclosed with the implied or explicit consent of our clients, consultants, and contractors for the purpose of tracking activities, making payments to freelance evaluation and consulting staff and distributing T4A forms for income tax, or for such other reasonable purposes, or as required or permitted by law.

MCN seeks consent to collect, use, and/or disclose personal information we have collected from third parties as required or permitted by law.

The personal information provided to us by prospective employees and individuals making employment inquiries is provided with implied consent for purposes reasonably related to the employment process.

In connection with My Class Needs Foundation, the consent of donors is implied when personal information, including the donor’s name, address and donation amount is collected. Use of the donor’s personal information is restricted to collecting donations, providing tax receipts, canvassing for future contributions, and to inform donors about upcoming MCN activities and events. Personal donor information is not sold or disclosed, except to further the purposes for which the personal information was collected.

The personal information needed to fund a classroom project is only collected, used, and disclosed with the prior consent of the recipient. How the recipient’s personal information is to be collected, used, and disclosed is reviewed by an employee of My Class Needs Foundation to ensure informed consent.

A client, consultant, contractor, prospective employee, donor, or recipient may withdraw their consent for the retention, use or disclosure of their personal information at any time. The implications of such a withdrawal will be communicated by MCN, as appropriate.

Limiting Collection, Use, and Disclosure

Only the personal information necessary for the purposes identified and consented to shall be collected by My Class Needs Foundation and subsequently used and disclosed, if necessary. The personal information collected shall only be used and disclosed for the purposes for which it was collected, and shall only be retained for as long as necessary to fulfill those purposes, to ensure that the individual from whom it was collected can verify its accuracy and to comply with any provincial or federal law.

The personal information provided to MCN by prospective employees and individuals making employment inquiries will be retained by MCN until such time as an employment decision is made. If an individual accepts a position with MCN their personal information will be retained in accordance with our employee policies and procedures. If employment does not result from the application process or general inquiries, the individual’s personal information will be retained for one year.

Accuracy

MCN shall record and retain the information collected from the individual about whom it relates, wherever possible, as accurately and completely as possible. If continued use of the personal information is required, MCN shall make every effort to keep the personal information up to date.

Safeguards

MCN ensures that all personal information collected, retained, and destroyed is protected against loss, theft, unauthorized access, and inadvertent or inappropriate release or disclosure.

Procedures have been established to ensure that the personal information of clients, consultants, contractors, prospective employees, donors, and recipients is used, disclosed, retained and destroyed in a sensitive manner. This information is considered and treated as being highly confidential.

Openness

Only the personal information necessary for the purposes identified and consented to shall be collected My Class Needs Foundation invites potential clients, consultants, contractors, employees, donors, and recipients to contact the Chief Privacy Officer to obtain further information about the efforts MCN has made to ensure appropriate collection, retention, use, and disclosure of personal information.

Existing clients, consultants, contractors, donors, and recipients may also contact the Chief Privacy Officer to request access to their personal information.

Individual Access

Only the personal information necessary for the purposes identified and consented to shall be collected Any client, consultant, contractor, donor, or recipient who desires access to or amendment of their personal information or information about its use, disclosure, or completeness may contact the Chief Privacy Officer.

Challenging Compliance

An individual may raise concerns regarding compliance with this Policy by MCN staff or volunteers by contacting the Chief Privacy Officer at 439 University Ave., Suite 1450, Toronto, ON M5G 1Y8 in writing.

Concerns should be fully set out and will be responded to at the earliest possible opportunity and in accordance with the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and MCN procedures, which may be accessed on request.

Reviewed November 2012

Politique de confidentialité

Politique de confidentialité de la Fondation Pour Ma Classe

La Fondation Pour Ma Classe et ses filiales (ci-après appelées collectivement « MCN ») s’emploient à protéger les renseignements personnels de ses donateurs, de son personnel enseignant utilisateur, de ses clients, de ses consultants et de ses entrepreneurs. La politique de confidentialité suivante explique sa mise en œuvre ainsi que notre engagement à cet égard. MCN a intégré dans sa politique de confidentialité les dix principes de confidentialité énoncés dans la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques du gouvernement fédéral. Ces principes portent sur la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels appartenant à nos donateurs, à notre personnel enseignant utilisateur, à nos clients, à nos consultants et à nos entrepreneurs.

Responsabilité

PMC endosse la responsabilité des renseignements personnels qui lui sont confiés. La directrice générale est chef de la protection des renseignements personnels et doit veiller à ce que les politiques et procédures de PMC relatives aux renseignements personnels en sa possession et aux demandes d’information pertinentes soient respectées.

Les questions et les demandes d’information relatives à notre engagement à l’égard de la protection des renseignements personnels, de notre politique de confidentialité et des renseignements personnels en notre possession peuvent être adressées par courriel à info@curriculum.org, à l’attention de la chef de la protection des renseignements personnels ou de la directrice générale, 439, avenue University, bureau 1450, Toronto (Ontario) M5G 1Y8, ou par télécopieur, au 416-591-1578.

 

Mandat

PMC recueille, utilise et divulgue les renseignements personnels de ses donateurs, membres du personnel enseignant utilisateurs, clients, consultants et entrepreneurs pour faciliter l’atteinte de ses objectifs et de sa mission qui consistent, entre autres, à faire progresser l’éducation dans les systèmes scolaires privés et publics des niveaux élémentaires et secondaires, et ce, partout au Canada.

Objectifs de PMC

  • Recevoir et maintenir une ou plusieurs œuvres caritatives et d’autres biens et appliquer, le cas échéant, la totalité ou une partie des fonds à des fins caritatives.
  • Faire progresser l’éducation en fournissant des ressources, matérielles ou non, à des enseignantes et enseignants de la maternelle à la 12e année qui le méritent et qui ont à cœur d’améliorer l’expérience éducative des élèves inscrits à des écoles publiques et indépendantes partout au Canada.
  • Élaborer et promouvoir un modèle de financement selon lequel les projets éducatifs et les occasions d’apprentissage sont appuyés financièrement par des dons publics.
  • Établir et promouvoir des commandites d’entreprises qui se sont engagées à appuyer les buts et objectifs de PMC.

PMC recueille, utilise et divulgue les renseignements personnels de ses donateurs pour faciliter les dons, y compris la reconnaissance d’un don, pour faire de nouvelles demandes de dons et pour fournir de l’information sur la destination des dons. Les listes de donateurs de PMC ne sont ni vendues ni fournies à d’autres organisations, ni utilisées par d’autres organisations. Tous les renseignements recueillis par PMC sont obtenus, utilisés et divulgués par PMC.

PMC recueille, utilise et divulgue les renseignements personnels de ses donataires pour faciliter le financement de projets de classe. Ses employés cherchent à obtenir et examinent le consentement explicite des personnes concernées en vue de la collecte, de l’utilisation et de la divulgation des renseignements personnels de ses donataires afin de financer un projet de classe au moment de la collecte.

Consentement

Les renseignements personnels de clients, de consultants et d’entrepreneurs que nous recueillons, utilisons et divulguons afin d’offrir des services éducatifs sont recueillis, utilisés et divulgués avec le consentement implicite ou explicite de nos clients, consultants et entrepreneurs afin de faire le suivi des activités, de payer les pigistes chargés de l’évaluation et des consultations et de distribuer des formulaires T4A aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu, ou à toute autre fin raisonnable, ou aux fins exigées ou autorisées par la loi.

PMC cherche à obtenir le consentement des personnes concernées en vue de recueillir, d’utiliser ou de divulguer les renseignements personnels que nous avons obtenus auprès de tiers, aux fins exigées ou autorisées par la loi.

Les renseignements personnels qui nous sont fournis par des employés éventuels et par des personnes s’informant des perspectives d’emploi sont obtenus avec le consentement implicite de ces personnes à des fins raisonnablement liées au processus d’emploi.

Pour ce qui touche PMC, le consentement des donateurs est implicite lorsque nous recueillons des renseignements personnels tels que le nom et l’adresse du donateur et le montant du don. Les renseignements personnels du donateur servent uniquement à la collecte des dons, à la remise de reçus d’impôt et à la sollicitation de futures contributions. Ils servent aussi à informer les donateurs au sujet des activités et des événements de PMC à venir. Les renseignements personnels des donateurs ne sont ni vendus, ni divulgués, sauf pour promouvoir la réalisation des objectifs pour lesquels ils ont été recueillis.

Les renseignements personnels requis pour financer un projet de classe ne sont recueillis, utilisés et divulgués qu’avec le consentement préalable du donataire. Un membre du personnel de PMC examine la façon dont les renseignements personnels du donataire sont recueillis, utilisés et divulgués pour s’assurer que le consentement est bel et bien éclairé.

Un client, un consultant, un entrepreneur, un éventuel employé ou un donataire peut retirer son consentement en tout temps concernant la conservation, l’utilisation ou la divulgation de ses renseignements personnels. Les conséquences d’un tel retrait du consentement seront communiquées par PMC en temps et lieu.

 

Limitation de la collecte, de l’utilisation et de la divulgation des renseignements

Seuls les renseignements personnels essentiels aux fins mentionnées et pour lesquelles le consentement a été obtenu seront recueillis par PMC et utilisés et divulgués subséquemment, au besoin. Les renseignements personnels recueillis ne seront utilisés et divulgués qu’aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis et ne seront conservés qu’aussi longtemps que nécessaire pour la réalisation de ces fins, pour que la personne visée puisse en vérifier l’exactitude et pour respecter toute loi provinciale ou fédérale.

PMC conservera les renseignements personnels qui lui auront été fournis par d’éventuels employés ou par des personnes s’informant des perspectives d’emploi jusqu’à ce qu’une décision ait été prise en matière d’emploi. Si une personne accepte un emploi auprès de PMC, ses renseignements personnels seront conservés conformément à nos politiques et procédures liées à nos employés. Si la personne ayant fait une demande d’emploi ou une demande de renseignements généraux n’est pas embauchée, ses renseignements personnels seront conservés pendant une période d’un an.

Exactitude

PMC s’efforcera de consigner et de conserver des renseignements personnels les plus exacts et les plus complets possible. Si elle doit continuer d’utiliser ces renseignements, elle fera tout en son pouvoir pour les garder à jour.

 

Mesures de protection

PMC s’assure que tous les renseignements personnels recueillis, conservés et détruits sont protégés contre le vol, l’accès non autorisé et la communication ou la divulgation inappropriée ou involontaire.

Des procédures ont été établies pour que les renseignements personnels des clients, des consultants, des entrepreneurs, des éventuels employés, des donateurs et des donataires soient utilisés, divulgués, conservés et détruits d’une manière adéquate. Ces renseignements sont considérés et traités comme des éléments hautement confidentiels.

 

Transparence

Seuls les renseignements personnels nécessaires aux fins mentionnées et pour lesquelles le consentement a été obtenu seront recueillis. PMC invite les éventuels clients, consultants, entrepreneurs, employés, donateurs et donataires à communiquer avec la chef de la protection des renseignements personnels pour en savoir plus sur les efforts déployés par PMC pour que la collecte, la conservation, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels s’effectuent adéquatement.

Les clients consultants, entrepreneurs, donateurs et donataires existants peuvent également communiquer avec la chef de la protection des renseignements personnels pour accéder à leurs renseignements personnels.

 

Accès individuel

Seuls les renseignements personnels nécessaires aux fins mentionnées et pour lesquelles le consentement a été obtenu seront recueillis. Tout client, consultant, entrepreneur, donateur ou donataire qui désire accéder à ses renseignements personnels ou à de l’information au sujet de leur utilisation, de leur divulgation ou de leur exhaustivité, ou qui désire faire modifier ces renseignements, peut communiquer avec la chef de la protection des renseignements personnels.

Possibilité de porter plainte à l’égard du non-respect des principes

Il est possible de porter plainte concernant le non-respect de la présente politique par le personnel ou les bénévoles de PMC. Il suffit de communiquer par écrit avec la chef de la protection des renseignements personnels au 439, avenue University, bureau 1450, Toronto (Ontario) M5G 1Y8.

Les plaintes doivent être explicites. On y répondra dans les plus brefs délais, conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et aux procédures de PMC, lesquelles sont accessibles sur demande.

Version révisée en novembre 2012