Teacher Guide

Thank you for considering MyClassNeeds. We are looking forward to helping you make your classroom project a crowd-funding success.

The purpose of this page is to guide you through the following stages of your project application:

  • Posting and Validation
  • Donations
  • Success – Fulfillment and Reporting

We have additional information available to help you with writing an engaging project proposal and engaging donors.

We hope the information provided addresses any questions you might have. If you need further information please contact us directly at: info@MyClassNeeds.ca


Quick Facts

What will MyClassNeeds (MCN) fund?

Short answer: Almost any project that has a positive impact on K-12 classroom learning, as long as it meets our eligibility guidelines.

Long answer: The possibilities are limited only by your imagination. This can include projects that take place outside of the physical classroom or school, as well as extra-curricular programs, provided that there is a clear, positive and demonstrable impact on the K-12 students’ learning environment.

Requested project materials can include anything from reading materials to school trips and all possibilities in between. If your class would benefit from lab materials, manipulatives or a guest lecturer – we want to help. (Please note that certain partner initiatives may have different eligibility requirements and restrictions on requested materials)

Our goal is to make fundraising simpler and easier for you. We help cost out and post the projects you identify, supplement your project promotion, and ensure donors receive tax receipts.

Once a project is fully funded, MCN purchases and coordinates delivery to your school (be it books or admission to a museum). With your help, we make sure that donors are kept abreast of the project success. We support your fundraising effort so you can concentrate on what you do best – helping students achieve their learning goals.

What are MyClassNeeds funding limitations?

There are few instances where MCN is not able to help you fundraise:

  • If there is no clearly defined benefit to student learning.
  • If fundraising for your project/resource contravenes your Provincial/Board/School policy (e.g. fundraising for textbooks is not allowed in the Ontario publicly funded system). To ensure policies are followed, MCN requires approval from your school administrator prior to posting.
  • Cash-only requests & perishables. MyClassNeeds is committed to ensuring resources are delivered to schools. Therefore we cannot accept projects that request cash or perishables.
  • Items that cannot be shipped or delivered by the supplier (e.g. lumber and other large contruction materials)
  • First-Time Projects that exceed $1,000. Every 1st time project application is limited to a maximum of $1000 (before shipping, taxes, and fees). Once you have successfully funded a project, the limit is eliminated. Projects funded through a partner-supported stream (e.g. Fuel Your School, Copernicus Eco Fund, etc.) do not count towards a minimum of one successfully funded project. (NOTE: MCN strongly advises that project requests be kept within a manageable dollar amount, as a smaller ask increases the chances of successfully funding a project)

Brief introduction to MyClassNeeds

How does this work?

There are three elements. Teachers post. Donors give. Students succeed.

Teachers Post

Teachers complete a simple application process. We validate the applications to ensure the projects positively impact student learning. The criteria for validation is outlined below in the ‘Stage1: Application’ section. The application is short but comprehensive.

A successful application is costed and your project is posted to MyClassNeeds.ca. Each project has its own dedicated page, with a maximum posting of 150 calendar days to complete the funding goal. Depending on your fundraising goal you may choose to have a condensed project time (to a minimum of 30 calendar days).

Teachers are permitted 2 concurrent project postings on the website. Once your project has been successfully funded, you must complete a report and donor ‘Thank You’ package. If, unfortunately, your project has not received full funding, you can apply with a different project.

Donors Give

Once your project is posted, MCN manages the administrative aspects of the donation process, including issuing tax receipts, while you promote your project.

Students Succeed

When a project achieves full-funding, MCN coordinates the purchase and delivery of your resource(s) to your class as soon as possible. We inform you and the donors of the success.

Once you’ve had the opportunity to use resource(s) in your classroom, MCN supports your completion of the report and donor ‘Thank You’ package. .


Tips for a successful project

  • Feasibility.

    While we won’t try to dissuade you from proposing larger projects, we do want you to keep in mind the feasibility of smaller requests. They generally have a better chance of being funded. Whatever the size of your ask, our support doesn’t change. Don’t forget there is a limit on first-time projects.

  • Specificity.

    Be sure to address specific learning goals in your project description. This information is part of our eligibility requirements and resonates with donors as it lays out the potential impact of their donation.

  • Clarity.

    Your application will become your project page on MyClassNeeds.ca. Your writing should be clear and compelling. It should capture the attention and imagination of potential donors. Looking for tips on how to create a compelling post? Click here.

  • Engagement.

    You are your best salesperson! When you promote your MyClassNeeds project within your networks and community, you increase your chances at success. For ideas and tools to help you promote your project, see the Promote Your Project page


Stage 1: Application

The application process involves completing an online form.

Application Form

Once you have started, you will be able to save and return to your application before you submit. MCN recommends teachers download this Offline Template to organize their responses. You will need the following information to complete your application:.

  1. Contact information for you and your school’s administrator
  2. Information about your school
  3. Title of your project/initiative. (Maximum 100 characters)
  4. Who are the students who will benefit? (Maximum 500 characters)
  5. Describe the intended learning goal and how the resource(s) will support that goal. (Maximum 900 characters)
  6. What resource(s) are you requesting?
    • Resource name/description
    • Item catalogue number in supplier catalogue (if available)
    • Supplier
    • Link to the resource on supplier website (if available)
    • Quantity
    • Estimated cost per unit
  7. Project summary
  8. Teacher bio and photo
  9. Project photograph

For tips on writing an effective, attention-grabbing project posting click here.

Photograph specifications:

  • JPEG format
  • Landscape oriented
  • 800x600 pixels
  • Colorful
  • Photograph should speak to your project (it could be a visual metaphor or a literal image)

For tips on taking an effective picture, see our Photo Guidelines.

NOTE: Should you choose to use your students in your photo, written permission from a parent or guardian (for students under 18) is required. Download the Photo Release Form..

Unrecognizable/unidentifiable (e.g. student is only visible from the back, the photo is a close-up of the student’s hand, etc.) student images do not require the same permission.


Stage 2: Validation and Posting

MCN validates each project to ensure they meet our eligibility guidelines, identify learning goals and have a clear strategy for achieving those goals.

The validation is NOT intended to measure your creativity or to reject experimental approaches. We review every application with an unbiased and open-mind.

MCN verifies the full cost of each project. The project costing includes:

  • the purchasing cost of all the materials, resources or services
  • delivery cost
  • applicable taxes
  • Fulfillment labor and materials (a $45 cost assigned to processing applications, print thank-you letters, postage, labels, envelopes, cover sheets, etc.)
  • 3rd party processing fee (a 1.5% fee is included for merchant processing credit card charges)

Donors are encouraged to donate to the costs of running the MyClassNeeds program. Donors are not obligated to contribute to these costs, but this donation offsets the costs of running a charitable organization (from office space to paper clips).

Once the costs are fully verified, the project is posted on the website


Stage 3: Donations

Once the project is posted on MyClassNeeds.ca, visitors to the website donate and share the project with their social networks.

Additional information on how to engage donors can be found on the Promote Your Project page.

Donations

We process all donations using a secure online donation platform. We use an industry-standard credit-card processing service that ensures secure donation process for donors.

At checkout, donors are given the option to include an optional donation to the running of the MyClassNeeds program. Donors are not obligated to contribute this amount.

Every donor is issued a tax receipt which is delivered to the donor via email and donors who contribute more than $50 receive a handwritten thank you card from the class (should the project receive full funding.)

We encourage donors to sign up for notifications of projects that match their interest (based on previous donations).

What happens if my project is not funded?

MCN is committed to raising awareness about the projects we support. However, some projects do not receive full funding. In these instances, we allow donors to reallocate their donation(s). When a project expires, donors are provided 21 days to choose one of three available options

  • Option 1: Donors re-allocate to a different project by the same teacher or school. Donor can apply their donation another project by the same teacher or within the same school. This option acknowledges a teacher’s preparation and promotion efforts for their project.
  • Option 2: Donors re-allocate funds to other projects on MyClassNeeds: if you have no other projects and no other project is available at your school, the donors can give to any project on MyClassNeeds.
  • Option 3: Donors let MyClassNeeds re-allocate the funds to other projects: If donors do not choose to reallocate their gift within 21 days, MCN will reapply the funds on their behalf. Funds will go to the most urgent projects first (based on the number of days before the funding deadline and funds needed to complete the project). Funds will only be reallocated to other projects and at no time will MCN reallocate donations intended for teacher projects to the operating costs of MCN.

Stage 4: Fulfillment and Reporting

Congratulations! Your project is fully funded. As your project has reached its funding goal we initiate the purchase of the requested resource(s) and arranging a delivery to your classroom.

Once the resource is delivered to your school we ask that you complete a project report and ‘Thank You’ package for the donors who contributed $50 or more to your project. The package consists of hand-written “Thank You” notes from you and your students and images of the project resources in use. Thank You cards and a return envelope (for sending the cards back to MCN) will be sent to you, once all of your resources (or majority of them) have been delivered. Once we receive the cards back from you, we forward them to your donors.

A project is closed when the report and ‘Thank You’ package have been delivered. Teachers must complete these items before they can post additional project(s).

Guide du personnel enseignant

Nous vous remercions de l’intérêt porté au programme PourMaClasse. Nous espérons avoir l’occasion de vous aider à sociofinancer votre projet de classe avec succès.

Sur cette page, vous trouverez de l’information détaillée pour vous guider dans la démarche de demande de financement :

  • Validation et affichage
  • Donation
  • Succès – Réalisation et compte rendu

Nous avons préparé d’autres renseignements pour vous aider à rédiger une proposition de projet invitante et à mobiliser les donateurs.

Nous espérons que l’information fournie saura répondre aux questions que vous pourriez avoir. Si vous avez besoin d’autres renseignements, nous vous invitons à communiquer directement avec nous à l’adresse suivante : info@MyClassNeeds.ca


Faits en bref

À quoi est destiné le financement PourMaClasse (PMC)?

Réponse courte : pratiquement n’importe quel projet ayant un impact positif sur l’apprentissage dans les classes de la maternelle à la 12e année, pour autant qu’il respecte nos lignes directrices sur l’admissibilité.

Réponse longue : les possibilités n’ont pour seule limite que votre imagination! Il peut s’agir de projets qui auront lieu en dehors de la salle de classe ou de l’école, ou encore de programmes parascolaires, à la condition qu’il y ait des retombées positives claires et démontrables sur le milieu d’apprentissage des élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année.

Qu’il s’agisse de matériel de lecture ou de sorties scolaires, la gamme de ressources demandées est vaste et inclut d’innombrables possibilités. Si votre classe a besoin de fournitures de laboratoire, de matériel de manipulation ou de la visite d’un conférencier invité – nous voulons aider. (Veuillez noter que certaines initiatives des partenaires peuvent comporter des critères d’admissibilité différents et des restrictions à l’égard des fournitures demandées).

Notre objectif est de simplifier votre collecte de fonds. Nous aidons à établir le coût du matériel demandé et à afficher le projet, nous appuyons vos efforts de promotion et nous nous assurons que les donateurs reçoivent des reçus officiels.

Une fois qu’un projet est financé avec succès, la Fondation PMC procède à l’achat du matériel et coordonne la livraison à votre école (qu’il s’agisse de livres ou de billets d’entrée dans un musée). Avec votre aide, nous nous assurons que les donateurs sont informés de la réussite du projet. Nous appuyons vos efforts de collecte pour que vous puissiez vous concentrer sur ce que vous faites le mieux – aider les élèves à atteindre leurs objectifs d’apprentissage.

Quelles sont les limites du financement PourMaClasse?

Il y a quelques cas où la Fondation PMC ne peut pas vous aider à amasser des fonds :

  • Si les retombées sur l’apprentissage des élèves ne sont pas clairement définies.
  • Si le financement de votre projet/ressource enfreint la politique de votre province, conseil scolaire ou école (p. ex., la collecte de fonds pour l’achat de manuels scolaires n’est pas autorisée au sein du système public de l’Ontario). Afin d’assurer la conformité aux politiques, PMC exige l’approbation de l’administrateur de votre école avant de procéder à l’affichage.
  • Argent comptant et articles périssables. La Fondation PourMaClasse s’engage à s’assurer que les ressources sont expédiées aux écoles. Par conséquent, nous ne pouvons accepter les projets visant à recueillir de l’argent comptant ou des articles périssables.
  • Les articles qui ne peuvent pas être expédiés ou livrés par le fournisseur (p. ex., bois d’œuvre et autres gros matériaux de construction).
  • Un premier projet de plus de 1000 $. Une première proposition de projet est limitée à un maximum de 1000 $ (avant frais d’expédition, taxes et droits). La limite est levée une fois qu’un projet de la catégorie des projets généraux est financé avec succès ET qu’un compte rendu de projet a été transmis à PMC. Un projet financé avec l’aide d’un partenaire (p. ex., Fuel Your School, Copernicus Eco Fund, etc.) ne peut pas être compté comme projet financé avec succès aux fins de cette restriction. NOTE : PMC recommande fortement d’établir un objectif de financement raisonnable afin d’augmenter les chances que le projet soit financé avec succès.

Brève introduction au programme PourMaClasse

Modalités

Il y a trois éléments. Le personnel enseignant affiche. Les donateurs contribuent. Les élèves réussissent.

 

Les enseignants affichent

Le personnel enseignant remplit une démarche simple de demande de financement. Nous validons la demande de financement pour nous assurer que le projet aura un impact positif sur l’apprentissage des élèves. Les critères de validation sont énoncés ci-dessous, à la section « Étape 1 : demande de financement ». La demande est courte, mais exhaustive.

Une fois la demande de financement approuvée, le coût des ressources est établi et le projet est affiché sur le site PourMaClasse.ca. Chaque projet a sa propre page et bénéficie d’une période d’affichage maximale de 150 jours civils pour atteindre l’objectif de financement. Selon l’objectif établi, vous pouvez choisir une période réduite (minimum de 30 jours civils).

Le personnel enseignant a la possibilité d’afficher deux (2) projets simultanément sur le site Web. Une fois que le projet est financé avec succès, l’enseignante ou l’enseignant doit préparer un compte rendu et une trousse de remerciements pour les donateurs. Si, par malchance, le projet n’atteint pas son objectif de financement, il est possible de faire une nouvelle demande pour un projet différent.

Les donateurs contribuent

Une fois le projet affiché, l’équipe PMC gère les aspects administratifs du processus de donation, y compris l’émission des reçus officiels, pendant que vous vous occupez de promouvoir votre projet.

Les élèves réussissent

Lorsqu’un projet atteint l’objectif de financement, l’équipe PMC coordonne l’achat et l’expédition des ressources à votre classe dès que possible. Nous informons le personnel enseignant et les donateurs de la réussite.

Une fois que vous avez eu la possibilité d’utiliser les ressources dans la classe, l’équipe PMC vous aide à préparer le compte rendu et la trousse de remerciements aux donateurs.


Conseils pour un projet réussi

  • Faisabilité

    Nous ne chercherons pas à vous dissuader de proposer un projet ambitieux, mais nous souhaitons insister sur la faisabilité des demandes plus raisonnables, pour augmenter les chances d’atteindre votre objectif de financement. Quel que soit le financement visé, notre soutien ne change pas. N’oubliez pas le financement maximal autorisé pour un premier projet.

  • Spécificité

    Veillez à indiquer des objectifs d’apprentissage clairs dans votre description de projet. Cette information fait partie de nos critères d’admissibilité et a de l’impact auprès des donateurs puisqu’elle montre les retombées éventuelles de leur donation.

  • Clarté

    Votre demande de financement deviendra votre page de projet sur le site PourMaClasse.ca. Votre texte doit être clair et convaincant. Il doit capter l’attention et éveiller l’imagination des donateurs éventuels. Vous avez besoin de conseils pour créer un message évocateur? Cliquez ici.

  • Engagement

    Vous êtes votre meilleur promoteur! Lorsque vous faites la promotion de votre projet PourMaClasse au sein de vos réseaux et de votre communauté, vous augmentez vos chances de réussite. Pour obtenir des idées et des outils qui vous aideront à promouvoir votre projet, rendez-vous sur la page Promouvoir votre projet.


Étape 1 : demande de financement

La démarche consiste à remplir un formulaire en ligne.

Formulaire de demande de financement

Une fois que vous aurez commencé à préparer votre demande, il vous sera possible de la sauvegarder et de la récupérer avant de la soumettre. Il est recommandé de télécharger le modèle hors ligne pour structurer les réponses. Vous devrez entrer les renseignements suivants dans la demande de financement :

1.Vos coordonnées et celles de l’administrateur de votre école

2.Renseignements au sujet de votre école

3.Titre de votre projet/initiative (100 caractères maximum)

4.Élèves bénéficiaires (500 caractères maximum)

5.Description de l’objectif d’apprentissage et du lien avec les ressources demandées (900 caractères maximum)

6.Matériel demandé

oNom et description de la ressource

oNuméro d’article au catalogue du fournisseur (si disponible)

oFournisseur

oHyperlien vers la ressource sur le site Web du fournisseur (si disponible)

oQuantité

oCoût estimatif par unité

7.Sommaire du projet

8.Biographie et photo de l’enseignante ou de l’enseignant

9.Photo du projet

Pour obtenir des conseils sur la façon de rédiger un message efficace et accrocheur, cliquez ici.

 

Caractéristiques des photographies :

  • Format JPEG
  • Orientation « Paysage »
  • 800 x 600 pixels
  • En couleurs
  • La photo doit bien représenter votre projet (il peut s’agir d’une métaphore visuelle ou d’une représentation littérale).

Pour obtenir des conseils sur la façon de prendre une photo efficace, lisez nos lignes directrices pour la prise de photos.

REMARQUE : si vous choisissez d’inclure vos élèves dans la photo, vous devez obtenir l’autorisation écrite d’un parent ou tuteur (pour les élèves de moins de 18 ans). Télécharger le formulaire d’autorisation de publier une photo.

Les images sur lesquelles les élèves ne peuvent pas être reconnus ou identifiés (p. ex., les élèves sont photographiés de dos, la photo montre un plan rapproché de la main d’un élève, etc.) ne sont pas assujetties aux mêmes exigences.

 


Étape 2 : validation et affichage

L’équipe PMC valide chaque projet pour s’assurer qu’il satisfait aux critères d’admissibilité, comporte des objectifs d’apprentissage bien définis et s’assortit d’une stratégie claire pour atteindre ces objectifs.

La validation N’A PAS pour but de mesurer votre créativité ou de rejeter les approches expérimentales. Nous examinons chaque demande avec la même ouverture d’esprit et sans parti pris.

L’équipe PMC vérifie le coût total de chaque projet. La ventilation des coûts du projet comprend ce qui suit :

  • coût d’achat de l’ensemble des fournitures, ressources ou services;
  • coût d’expédition;
  • taxes applicables;
  • frais de manutention (un montant de 45 $ est prévu pour le traitement de la demande et l’impression des mots de remerciements, l’affranchissement, les étiquettes et enveloppes, les feuilles de couverture, etc.);
  • frais de traitement par un tiers (des frais de 1,5 % sont inclus pour le traitement des paiements par carte de crédit).

On encourage les donateurs à contribuer aux coûts d’exploitation du programme PourMaClasse. Il s’agit d’un don volontaire, mais cette contribution aide à réduire les coûts associés à l’exploitation d’un organisme caritatif (des locaux pour les bureaux aux trombones).

Une fois que tous les coûts ont été vérifiés, le projet est affiché sur le site Web.


Étape 3 : donation

Une fois le projet affiché sur le site PourMaClasse.ca, les visiteurs peuvent verser un don et partager ensuite le projet au sein de leurs réseaux sociaux.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur la façon de joindre les donateurs sur la page Promouvoir votre projet.

 

Dons

Tous les dons sont traités sur une plateforme en ligne sécurisée. Nous utilisons un service standard de traitement des paiements par carte de crédit qui garantit un processus sûr pour les donateurs.

Au moment de conclure la transaction, les donateurs ont la possibilité de contribuer, à titre volontaire, au coût d’exploitation du programme PourMaClasse. Ils ne sont pas obligés de verser le montant suggéré.

Un reçu officiel est envoyé par courrier électronique à chaque donateur, et les personnes qui font une don de plus de 50 $ reçoivent de la classe un mot de remerciements écrit à la main (si le projet atteint son objectif de financement).

Nous encourageons les donateurs à s’inscrire à des notifications pour être informés des projets qui correspondent à leurs critères d’intérêt (établis d’après les donations antérieures).

 

Qu’arrive-t-il si mon projet n’est pas financé?

La Fondation PMC a à cœur de faire connaître les projets qu’elle soutient. Malgré tout, il arrive que des projets n’obtiennent pas un financement complet. Dans ce cas, nous permettons aux donateurs de réattribuer l’argent versé. À la fin de la période d’affichage du projet, les donateurs disposent de 21 jours pour choisir l’une des trois options suivantes :

 

Option 1: les donateurs réattribuent les fonds à un projet différent du même enseignant ou de la même école. Un donateur peut appliquer l’argent versé à un autre projet du même enseignant ou de la même école. Cette option reconnaît les efforts investis dans la préparation et la promotion du projet.

Option 2: les donateurs réattribuent les fonds à d’autres projets affichés sur le site PourMaClasse : si vous ou votre école n’avez pas d’autres projets affichés, les donateurs peuvent réattribuer les fonds à n’importe quel autre projet affiché sur le site PourMaClasse.

Option 3: les donateurs laissent la Fondation PMC réattribuer les dons à d’autres projets : si les donateurs ne choisissent pas de réattribuer leur don dans un délai de 21 jours, la Fondation PMC réattribuera les fonds en leur nom et les versera aux projets les plus urgents (déterminés selon le nombre de jours d’affichage restants et le montant manquant pour compléter le projet). Les fonds peuvent uniquement être réattribués à d’autres projets, et la Fondation PMC ne pourra en aucun temps affecter les fonds destinés aux projets scolaires à ses propres coûts d’exploitation.

 


Étape 4 : réalisation et compte rendu

Félicitations! Vous avez atteint l’objectif de financement de votre projet. Lorsque votre projet obtient la totalité du financement demandé, nous procédons à l’achat du matériel demandé et organisons l’expédition à votre classe.

Une fois que le matériel a été livré à votre école, nous vous demandons de remplir un compte rendu de projet et une trousse de remerciements destinée aux donateurs qui ont fait un don de 50 $ ou plus à votre projet. La trousse comprend des mots de remerciement écrits à la main par vous et vos élèves, et des photos montrant l’utilisation des ressources. Les cartes de remerciement et une enveloppe de retour (pour renvoyer les cartes à la Fondation PMC) vous seront expédiées une fois que la totalité (ou la majeure partie) des ressources aura été expédiée. Dès que nous recevrons les cartes, nous les acheminerons à vos donateurs.

Un projet est terminé lorsque le compte rendu et une trousse de remerciements ont été expédiés. Le personnel enseignant doit s’acquitter de cette dernière tâche avant de pouvoir afficher de nouveaux projets sur le site.