Janice Thomson Memorial Fund

Additional Eligibility Requirements for the Janice Thomson Memorial Fund

In addition to the general Teacher and Project Eligibility Requirements, a project must meet the following requirements to be eligible for project completion funding through the Janice Thomson Memorial Fund :

  1. The teacher must be an Ontario-certified secondary school teacher.
  2. The project must support either:
    • at-risk initiatives,
    • Special Education program(s),
    • program(s) in the Arts, or
    • program(s) in History

Janice Thomson Memorial Funds are dispersed annually by March 31st.

About Janice Thomson

Janice Thomson was a well known and respected Ontario educator. She taught history, advocated for the arts, and was committed to the needs of at-risk students. Her family and friends initiated a grant in Janice’s honour through Curriculum Service Canada’s former charitable affiliate, The Curriculum Foundation.

With the inception of My Class Needs Foundation, the grant is now used to help fund classroom projects in keeping with its original terms of reference. Specifically, the Janice Thomson Memorial Fund helps Ontario-certified secondary school teachers achieve their fundraising goals through MyClassNeeds by providing completion funding if their projects support initiatives and programs for students-at-risk, the arts, history, or special education.

Bourse commémorative Janice Thomson

Critères d’admissibilité supplémentaires pour la Bourse commémorative Janice Thomson

Outre les critères généraux servant à établir l’admissibilité des enseignants et des projets, les exigences suivantes s’appliquent aux projets proposés pour financement complet par la Bourse commémorative Janice Thomson :

  1. L’enseignante ou l’enseignant doit être agréé en Ontario et travailler dans une école secondaire autorisée.
  2. Le projet doit appuyer :
  • les programmes destinés aux élèves à risque;
  • les programmes d’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté;
  • les arts;
  • l’histoire.

Les bourses commémoratives Janice Thomson sont décernées chaque année jusqu’au 31 mars.

À propos de Janice Thomson

Janice Thomson était une enseignante bien connue et respectée en Ontario. Fervente adepte des arts, elle enseignait l’histoire et défendait avec ardeur les besoins des élèves à risque. Sa famille et ses amis ont créé en son honneur une bourse décernée par la Fondation des programmes d’études (TCF).

Depuis la création de la Fondation Pour Ma Classe, la bourse sert maintenant à appuyer le financement de projets de classe qui répondent aux critères originaux. En particulier, la Bourse commémorative Janice Thomson aidera des enseignantes et enseignants agréés qui travaillent dans les écoles secondaires autorisées de l’Ontario à atteindre leurs objectifs de financement sur le site PourMaClasse en finançant en totalité les projets qui appuient les programmes destinés aux élèves à risque, les arts, l’histoire ou les programmes d’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté.