Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides governance, oversight and strategic direction for the organization.

Peter Levesque

President and Chair

Peter Levesque

Peter Levesque is the founder and CEO of Knowledge Mobilization Works, an Ottawa-based consulting and training company. He has over ten years of experience working with governments, research institutes, and professional associations on issues of knowledge mobilization, including exchange, management, social media, transfer, and translation.

His career has included serving as Deputy-Director of Knowledge Products and Mobilization at the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, as Knowledge Exchange Specialist at the Centre of Excellence for Child and Youth Mental Health, and as Chair of Knowledge Mobilization at the Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation. His early career included success as an entrepreneur and community developer.


Carol Cotton

Ontario Catholic School Trustee's Association

Carol has been a trustee with the York Catholic DSB since January 1993 (serving as Vice Chair several times and as Chair of multiple standing committees). She has represented the City of Markham, Thornhill, and Unionville ridings in York region and has served as a trustee representative on the Elementary Religious Education Advisory and the Catholic Parent Involvement Committees since they were created. Carol graduated from the University of Waterloo in 1980, and worked for the YMCA of Greater Metropolitan Toronto. Her career also included a role as Director on the OCSTA Board for two terms. She is married to her husband Lawrence, and has two children--Charles, 25, graduate of York University, in Education and Claire, 23, graduate of International Studies at University of Guelph.

Carol Cotton

Linda Knight

Council of Directors of Ontario

Linda Knight

Linda Knight is the Director of Education for District School Board Ontario North East and represents the Council of Directors of Ontario. Prior to the appointment as the Director, Linda was a Superintendent of Schools providing leadership to a team of Principals in the Southern Region of the Board, as well as district-wide responsibilities for curriculum, special education and technology. Additional system responsibilities were Special Education Advisory Committee, Transportation Committee, School Year Calendar, Emergency and Pandemic Planning Committee with two Health Units and numerous communities.

Linda was President of Tri-Town/Northern district of the Arthritis Society for ten years, helping raise funds for research. In 2010, Linda received the Distinguished Leadership Award 2009-2010 from the Ontario Public School Supervisory Officers’ Association.


Sophia Maloney

Catholic Principals’ Council of Ontario

Sophia Maloney is a member of the Catholic Principals' Council of Ontario (CPCO) that represents Principals and Vice-Principals in Ontario's publicly funded Catholic school system.

She has been an educator for 16 years and is currently Vice-Principal at Ascension of Our Lord Secondary School in Mississauga. This is located in the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board; one of the most diverse and fastest growing school boards in Ontario.

Sophia has served on several committees at the school-level, system-level, and provincial-level.

She is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario and the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education University of Toronto.

Sophia Maloney

Lincoln Simmons

Board Treasurer

Lincoln Simmons

Lincoln Simmons is a Financing Specialist in the Commercial Banking platform at RBC. In previous roles he managed a team of Small Business account managers in Southwestern Ontario and has been directly involved in the management of mid market commercial client relationships in Owen Sound and Stratford Ontario. He is a former member of the Board of Directors for the Stratford and Area Chamber of Commerce and holds a Masters of Science from the University of Guelph and a Masters of Business Administration from Dalhousie University.


Peter Sovran

Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board (HWDSB)

Peter Sovran is the Associate Director, Learning Services at Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board (HWDSB). His other roles at HWDSB have included Executive Superintendent and Superintendent of Student Achievement. Before joining HWDSB in 2013, Peter served as the Senior Manager responsible for Ontario’s e-Learning strategy. Peter’s leadership experiences include being an elementary school Principal and Vice-Principal with the York Region and Toronto District school boards, a member of Curriculum Services Canada’s executive team and a Senior Policy Advisor and Education Officer with the Ministry of Education. Peter’s leadership experience includes supporting school improvement efforts with a First Nation’ school in Northwestern Ontario.

Peter Sovran

Anita Simpson

Ontario Public Supervisory Officials Association

Anita Simpson

Anita is Superintendent of Program and Innovation with the Simcoe County District School Board. She is also the Canadian Cluster Lead for New Pedagogies for Deep Learning (NPDL), an international learning lab involving 10 countries and 1,000 schools from around the world, led by Michael Fullan. Anita is an Adler Trained Coach (ATC) having earned her Leadership Coaching in the Workplace Certification through the Adler School of Professional Learning and the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE). She is also a certified facilitator of Restorative Practices through the International Institute of Restorative Practices (IIRP). Anita’s work in the area of FNMI education was featured in the fall, 2013 issue of OPSOA’s Education Today. She is married to Canadian actor Michael Simpson, and they have two children, Joshua and Leah. Her motto: “No Day Without Learning!”


Max Vecchiarino

Ontario Catholic Supervisory Officials Association

Max Vecchiarino is a Superintendent of Education with the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board, and has been a member of OCSOA for the past four years. Max, a former Assistant Superintendent of Special Education, is responsibile for a number of system portfolios, including Safe Schools and Student Voice. A Doctoral candidate at OISE/UT, Max’s publications as well as his professional and research interests focus on the concept of teacher professionalism, and honour the relationships between leadership capacity and school and district improvement.

Max Vecchiarino

Sue Britton

FinTech Growth Syndicate (FGS)

Sue Britton

Sue Britton is the CEO & Founder of FinTech Growth Syndicate (FGS), a company that brings deep expertise and differentiated capability to the rapidly growing FinTech marketplace globally. FGS is a business and innovation accelerator for banks, start-ups and everything in between. Prior to FGS, Sue spent 25 years growing a career in product, sales and marketing innovation for some of the largest technology companies in the world.

In her last corporate role, Sue was Vice President & Head of Global Innovation for D+H (now Finastra), and prior to that held a variety of senior roles in innovation, sales & marketing and market development for Broadridge Financial, Pareto, Symcor, Xerox and Four Seasons. An avid community builder and volunteer, she holds many advisory roles that help to drive awareness and collaboration in Canada around innovation. Sue has a Bachelor of Commerce from Ryerson University, has 3 children, and lives in Toronto with her husband and youngest son.


Sangeetha Chandru

Sobeys Inc.

Sangeetha Chandru is the Vice President of Corporate Strategy and Development at Sobeys Inc. In her role, Ms. Chandru is responsible for managing the corporate planning cycle including strategic and business planning, as well as developing a pipeline of growth opportunities for the organization. Ms. Chandru joined Sobeys in 2011 as Vice President, Sobeys Development Office focusing on business transformation, program management and change management. Before moving to Sobeys, she was part of the Strategy and Transformation practice at IBM supporting the Retail and CPG sectors. Prior to IBM, Ms. Chandru also worked in progressively senior positions in various retail formats and began her career in the technology sector. 

Active in the community, Ms. Chandru is a volunteer and former board member with two not-for-profit organizations prior to her joining the Board at Learnography. Ms. Chandru holds Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Industrial Psychology from the University of Madras with a Post Graduate Specialization in Industrial Relations. She also attained a Masters of Science in Human Resources Design and Management from Claremont Graduate University. She resides in Toronto with her family.

Sangeetha Chandru

Conseil d'administration

Le conseil d’administration est chargé de la gouvernance, de la supervision et de l’orientation stratégique de l’organisation.

Peter Levesque

Président

Peter Levesque

Peter Levesque est le fondateur et PDG de Knowledge Mobilization Works, entreprise de conseil et de formation établie à Ottawa. Il possède plus de dix années d’expérience dans le domaine de la mobilisation des connaissances (échange, gestion, transfert, traduction et médias sociaux), expérience qu’il a acquise auprès de gouvernements, d’instituts de recherche et d’associations professionnelles.

Durant sa carrière, il a été directeur adjoint de la mobilisation des connaissances au Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada, spécialiste de l’échange des connaissances au Centre d’excellence de l’Ontario en santé mentale des enfants et des adolescents et président de la mobilisation des connaissances pour la Fondation ontarienne de neurotraumatologie. Au début de sa carrière, il a également connu du succès en tant qu’entrepreneur et développeur communautaire.


Carol Cotton

OCSTA

Mme Cotton est conseillère auprès du York Catholic District School Board depuis janvier 1993 (ayant agi à titre de vice-présidente plusieurs fois et de présidente de plusieurs comités permanents). Elle a représenté les circonscriptions de la Ville de Markham, de Thornhill et de Unionville dans la région de York, et a agi en tant que représentante des conseillers au sein du comité consultatif sur l’éducation religieuse à l’élémentaire et du comité de mobilisation des parents catholiques depuis leur mise sur pied. Diplômée de l’Université de Waterloo en 1980, elle a travaillé pour le YMCA du Grand Toronto. Elle a également rempli deux mandats de directrice du conseil d’administration de l’OCSTA. Elle a épousé Lawrence Cotton et est la mère de Charles 25 ans, diplômé de l’Université York en éducation, et de Claire 23 ans, diplômée en études internationales de l’Université de Guelph.

Carol Cotton

Linda Knight

Conseil Ontarien des Directrices et Directeurs de l’Éducation (CODE)

Linda Knight

Linda Knight est directrice de l’éducation au sein du District School Board Ontario North East et représente le Conseil ontarien des directrices et directeurs de l’éducation. Avant d’être nommée directrice, elle occupait les fonctions de surintendante des écoles et dirigeait une équipe de directrices et directeurs dans la région sud du conseil scolaire. Elle s’acquittait également de tâches liées au curriculum, à l’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté et à la technologie à l’échelle du district. Elle était aussi chargée du comité consultatif sur l’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté, du comité sur les transports, du calendrier scolaire et du comité de planification en cas d’urgence ou de pandémie auprès de deux bureaux de santé et dans de nombreuses collectivités.

Pendant dix ans, Mme Knight a été présidente du district Tri-Town/nord de la Société de l’arthrite où elle a aidé à recueillir des fonds à des fins de recherche. En 2010, elle s’est vue remettre le prix Distinguished Leadership Award 2009-2010 de l’Ontario Public School Supervisory Officers’ Association.


Sophia Maloney

CPCO

Sophia Maloney est membre du Catholic Principals’ Council of Ontario (CPCO) qui représente les directions et directions adjointes des écoles du système scolaire public catholique de l’Ontario. 

Elle a exercé dans l’enseignement pendant 16 ans et occupe actuellement le poste de directrice adjointe de l’école secondaire Ascension of Our Lord de Mississauga. Cette école se trouve sur le territoire du Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board, l’un des conseils scolaires de l’Ontario qui se distingue par sa grande diversité et une croissance très rapide. 

Sophia a siégé à plusieurs comités au niveau local, régional et provincial.

Elle est diplômée de l’Université Western et de l’Institut d'études pédagogiques de l’Ontario de l’Université de Toronto. 

Sophia Maloney

Lincoln Simmons

Trésorier du Conseil d’Administration

Lincoln Simmons

Lincoln Simmons est spécialiste en financement de la plateforme des services bancaires commerciaux chez RBC. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions antérieures, il a dirigé une équipe de gestionnaires de comptes de petites entreprises du sud-ouest de l’Ontario et a participé directement à la gestion de relations commerciales avec de moyennes entreprises à Owen Sound et à Stratford, en Ontario. Il a siégé au conseil d’administration de la Chambre de commerce de Stratford et de la région, et est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences de l’Université de Guelph et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université de Dalhousie. 

 


Peter Sovran

HWDSB

Peter Sovran est directeur adjoint des Services d’apprentissage pour le Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board (HWDSB), où il a également joué les rôles de surintendant exécutif et de surintendant de la réussite des élèves. Avant d’entrer au HWDSB en 2013, Peter a servi comme gestionnaire principal responsable de la Stratégie d’apprentissage électronique de l’Ontario. Sa solide expérience en gestion provient également des différents mandats qu’il a remplis comme directeur adjoint et directeur d’une école élémentaire au sein du York Region DSB et du Toronto DSB, en tant que membre de l’équipe de direction de Service des programmes d’études Canada, ainsi que comme conseiller principal en politiques et agent d’éducation pour le ministère de l’Éducation. À titre de leader, Peter a également contribué aux efforts d’amélioration des écoles en travaillant avec une école des Premières Nations dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario.

Peter Sovran

Anita Simpson

OCSOA

Anita Simpson

Mme Simpson est surintendante des programmes et de l’innovation au sein du Simcoe County District School Board. Elle endosse également le rôle de chef d’équipe canadienne pour New Pedagogies for Deep Learning (NPDL), laboratoire d’apprentissage international dirigé par Michael Fullan intervenant dans 10 pays et dans 1000 écoles un peu partout dans le monde. Mme Simpson porte aussi le titre d’Adler Trained Coach (ATC) (coach formée selon la méthode Adler), ayant obtenu son certificat de Leadership Coaching in the Workplace (coaching en matière de leadership au travail) à l’Adler School of Professional Learning et à l’Institut d’études pédagogiques de l’Ontario (OISE). Elle est aussi facilitatrice agréée en pratiques de justice réparatrice, titre qu’elle a obtenu auprès de l’International Institute of Restorative Practices (IIRP). Son travail dans le domaine de l’éducation des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits a fait l’objet du numéro d’automne 2013 de la revue Education Today de l’OPSOA. Mme Simpson a épousé l’acteur canadien Michael Simpson, et ils sont les heureux parents de deux enfants : Joshua et Leah. Sa devise est la suivante: "Apprendre sans faute tous les jours!"

 


Max Vecchiarino

OCSOA

Max Vecchiarino est surintendant de l’éducation au sein du Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board et est membre de l’OCSOA depuis quatre ans. Ancien surintendant adjoint de l’éducation de l’enfance en difficulté, il est chargé de plusieurs dossiers du système, notamment ceux portant sur la sécurité dans les écoles et la voix des élèves. Candidat au doctorat à l’OISE/UT, ses publications ainsi que ses domaines d’intérêt professionnels et en matière de recherche portent sur le concept du professionnalisme des enseignantes et enseignants et soulignent les relations qui existent entre le leadership et l’amélioration des écoles et des districts.

Max Vecchiarino

Sue Britton

FGS

Sue Britton

Sue Britton est directrice générale et fondatrice du FinTech Growth Syndicate (FGS), une société qui apporte une profonde expertise et des capacités différenciées au secteur d’activité FinTech qui jouit d’une croissance rapide sur le marché mondial. FGS est un accélérateur dans le domaine des affaires et de l’innovation pour les banques, les entreprises naissantes et tout ce qui se trouve entre les deux. Avant la fondation du FGS, Sue a connu pendant 25 ans une carrière florissante dans le domaine de la vente et du marketing de produits innovateurs pour plusieurs grandes sociétés technologiques à travers le monde.

Dans le cadre de son rôle le plus récent, Sue était vice-présidente et chef de l’innovation mondiale pour D+H (maintenant Finastra), et avant cela elle a occupé des postes de premier plan dans les domaines de l’innovation de produits, des ventes et du marketing ainsi que du développement de marchés pour Broadridge Financial, Pareto, Symcor, Xerox et Four Seasons. 

Une bâtisseuse communautaire bénévole chevronnée, elle joue des rôles de consultation qui contribuent à mener à bien des projets de sensibilisation et de collaboration en matière d’innovation au Canada. Sue est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Ryerson. Elle est mère de trois enfants et habite à Toronto avec son époux et son fils le plus jeune.


Sangeetha Chandru

Sobeys Inc.

Sangeetha Chandru est vice-présidence du secteur Stratégie d’entreprise et expansion générale chez Sobeys inc. Dans le cadre de son rôle, Mme Chandru est responsable de la gestion du cycle de planification des activités, y compris la planification stratégique et commerciale ainsi que le développement de perspectives de croissance pour l’organisation. Mme Chandru s’est jointe à l’équipe de Sobeys en 2011 à titre de vice-présidente du bureau d’expansion de Sobeys inc. qui mettait l’accent sur la transformation commerciale, la gestion de programmes et la gestion du changement. Avant de joindre les rangs de Sobeys, elle faisait partie du service de Stratégie et Transformation d’IBM visant le soutien des secteurs des ventes au détail et des produits de consommation emballés.  Avant IBM, Mme Chandru a assumé progressivement des fonctions de direction dans une variété de formats des ventes au détail et a entrepris une carrière dans le secteur des technologies.

Une participante communautaire active, Mme Chandru a siégé au conseil d’administration de deux organismes sans but lucratif où elle est également bénévole et elle fait maintenant partie du conseil d’administration de Learnography. Mme Chandru est titulaire de baccalauréats et de maîtrises en psychologie industrielle de l’Université de Madras avec spécialisation en relations industrielles. Elle a également obtenu une maîtrise en sciences des ressources humaines (conception et gestion) de la Claremont Graduate University. Elle habite à Toronto avec sa famille.

Sangeetha Chandru