Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides strategic and critical input to the Board of Directors and leadership to support the development and strategy of the organization.

Michael Hayward

President, Wintergreen Learning Materials

Michael Hayward

As President of Wintergreen Learning Materials, Michael has been singularly focused for over 25 years on creating a synergistic, supportive work environment for employees and providing world class customer service to Canada’s education community. Extensive travel and strong industry relationships have helped in his continued pursuit to bring together a variety of interested individuals in support of education across the country. Through these relationships and industry education, Michael has developed a passion and expertise in the selection of educationally appropriate materials for school and child care environments. Michael is the proud father of three daughters, does not have a television, and enjoys writing, playing guitar, cottaging, physical pursuits and struggling with golf.


Chris McDonald

President, Hot Docs

Prior to Hot Docs, Chris worked for two national environmental organizations before becoming the Development Director at the prestigious Canadian Film Centre - the advanced film, television and new media training centre founded by director Norman Jewison. Chris was appointed Executive Director of Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival in October of 1998 and was named President in 2013. Chris continues to sit on several industry advisory boards, and has served on panels and juries at leading film festivals and markets around the world. A native of Montreal, Chris holds a degree in Film Studies from McGill University.

Chris McDonald

Jim Phillips

Chief Cook and Bottle Washer, Copernicus Educational Products

Jim Phillips

Jim started Copernicus Educational Products in 1989 with his father George. Copernicus manufactures educational furniture and equipment for schools ranging from teaching easels to mobile carts for LCD touch screens. Copernicus employs over 50 people and is working on becoming a more socially responsible company within the educational market by funneling at least 1% of their sales on socially responsible initiatives.


Andrew Spinner

Vice President, Greypoint Capital

Andrew is the Vice President of Greypoint Capital, a mid market lender for Canadian real estate and operating companies. Having gained his Chartered Professional Accountant, Chartered Accountant (CPA, CA) designation with PricewaterhouseCoopers in Toronto, Andrew applied his financial expertise and entrepreneurial drive in co-founding an education based startup, before being acquired by EventMobi in 2013. Along the way, Andrew founded Canada’s first charitable crowdfunding platform for teachers – Pick My Class Canada. Having established a large network while helping fund classroom projects across Canada, Andrew brings a wealth of experience and innovative thinking to the Advisory Board. A native of Windsor, Ontario, Andrew obtained his bachelors of Commerce degree from Dalhousie University.

Andrew Spinner

Dale Schattenkirk

Director, KPMG Management Consulting and Operations

Dale Schattenkirk

With 25 years of experience, Dale has worked extensively within both public and private sectors across Canada concentrating on organizational change and design. His focus is engaging staff to achieve results through the use of process and quality improvement methodologies. While working with the Saskatchewan Health system and creating the provincial quality program, for this effort, Dale and his team were awarded the Lieutenant Governor’s Award. He also is responsible for helping three manufacturing facilities achieve the prestigious Industry Weeks Top Ten award. Prior to KPMG, Dale founded Learning to See Consulting, a boutique consultancy firm focused exclusively on process improvement in private and government based organizations. A recent change of location from Saskatchewan to Toronto has rejuvenated Dale’s passion for helping the community. Dale holds a Certified Human Resource Professional designation and is a Lean Six Sigma Master Black Belt from Ohio State Fisher School of Business.

Conseil consultatif

En plus de fournir des renseignements de nature stratégique et essentielle au conseil d’administration, le conseil consultatif joue un rôle de leadership à l’appui du développement et de l’orientation de l’organisation.

Michael Hayward

Président, Wintergreen Learning Materials

Michael Hayward

En sa qualité de président de Wintergreen Learning Materials, Michael se consacre depuis plus de 25 ans à créer un milieu de travail positif et synergique pour les employés et à offrir un service à la clientèle de classe mondiale au secteur de l’éducation canadien. Ses innombrables voyages et ses solides relations avec l’industrie ont alimenté ses efforts inlassables visant à mobiliser diverses parties intéressées à l’appui de l’éducation dans tout le pays. Ces relations et ce travail de sensibilisation auprès de l’industrie ont permis à Michael de cultiver sa passion et son expertise dans la sélection de matériel éducatif pour les écoles et les milieux de garde. Michael est l’heureux père de trois filles, il ne possède pas de télévision et il aime écrire, jouer de la guitare, profiter de son chalet, faire de l’activité physique et essayer de s’améliorer au golf.


Chris McDonald

Président, Hot Docs

Avant son entrée chez Hot Docs, Chris a travaillé pour deux organismes environnementaux nationaux pour ensuite être nommé directeur du développement pour le prestigieux Centre canadien du film – centre fondé par le directeur Norman Jewison qui offre une formation avancée dans les domaines du film, de la télévision et des nouveaux médias. Chris a été nommé directeur général du Festival international canadien du documentaire Hot Docs en octobre 1998, puis président en 2013. Il continue de siéger à plusieurs comités consultatifs de l’industrie et a fait partie de panels et jurys pour de célèbres marchés et festivals cinématographiques partout dans le monde. Originaire de Montréal, Chris est titulaire d’un diplôme en études cinématographiques de l’Université McGill.

Chris McDonald

Jim Phillips

Cuisinier en chef et laveur de bouteilles, Copernicus Educational Products

Jim Phillips

Jim a fondé l’entreprise Copernicus Educational Products en 1989 avec son père, George. Copernicus est un fabricant de matériel et de meubles scolaires dont la gamme de produits s’étend des chevalets aux chariots mobiles pour écrans tactiles à cristaux liquides. Copernicus emploie une cinquantaine de personnes et s’efforce d’être une société socialement responsable sur le marché de l’éducation en contribuant au moins 1 % de son chiffre d’affaires à des initiatives socialement responsables.


Andrew Spinner

Vice-président, GreyPoint Capital

Andrew est vice président de GreyPoint Capital, société prêteuse sur le marché intermédiaire pour les sociétés immobilières et les sociétés exploitantes canadiennes. Ayant obtenu ses titres de comptable professionnel agréé et de comptable agréé (CPA, CA) chez PricewaterhouseCoopers à Toronto, Andrew a su mettre à profit son expertise financière et sa motivation entrepreneuriale en cofondant une jeune entreprise à vocation scolaire, qui a été achetée par EventMobi en 2013. En cours de route, Andrew a fondé Pick My Class Canada, première plateforme canadienne de financement participatif à vocation caritative créée à l’intention de la communauté enseignante. Fort du vaste réseau de relations qu’il a créé en aidant à financer des projets de classe partout au pays, Andrew apporte une riche contribution au conseil par son expérience et son approche innovante. Originaire de Windsor en Ontario, Andrew est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université Dalhousie.

Andrew Spinner

Dale Schattenkirk

Directeur, Services de conseil en gestion et Opérations de KPMG

Dale Schattenkirk

Comptant 25 ans d’expérience, Dale a beaucoup travaillé au sein des secteurs public et privé partout au Canada, se concentrant sur la conception et le changement organisationnels. Il s’occupe principalement de mobiliser le personnel dans l’atteinte des résultats en utilisant des méthodes d’exécution et d’amélioration de la qualité. Dans le cadre de son travail auprès du système de santé de la Saskatchewan qui consistait à créer le programme de qualité provincial, Dale, ainsi que son équipe, ont reçu le prix du Lieutenant-gouverneur. Il a également aidé trois installations de fabrication à obtenir le prestigieux prix « « Industry Week » récompensant 10 des meilleures usines. Avant de travailler chez KPMG, Dale a mis sur pied Learning to See Consulting, une société d’experts-conseils spécialisés axée exclusivement sur l’amélioration des processus au sein des organismes privés et gouvernementaux. Un récent changement de lieu, de la Saskatchewan à Toronto, a renouvelé sa passion pour l’entraide communautaire. Dale détient le titre de conseiller en ressources humaines agréé et une ceinture noire supérieure Lean Six Sigma du Fisher School of Business, Université d’État de l’Ohio.